Slamdance Film Festival 2008


The New Year Parade - Tom Quinn

Best Narrative Feature: The New Year Parade directed by Tom Quinn

How To Be - Oliver Irving

Special Honorable Mention for Narrative Feature: How To Be directed by Oliver Irving

Song Sung Blue - Greg Kohs

Best Documentary Feature: Song Sung Blue directed by Greg Kohs

Special Honorable Mention for Documentary Feature: My Mother’s Garden directed by Cynthia Lester

Best Animated Short: Blood Will Tell directed by Andrew McPhillips

Best Documentary Short: The Ladies directed by C.A. Voros

Best Experimental Short: Doxology directed by Michael Langan

Best Narrative Short: Son directed by Daniel Mulloy

Special Honorable Mention for Narrative Short: 4960 directed by Wing-Yee Wu

The jury was made up of: MicroCineFest director Skizz Cyzyk, IFP managing director Amy Dotson, Sidewalk fest co-founder Erik Jambor, Film Arts associate editor Laurie Koh, filmmaker Leah Meyerhoff, YouTube manager of film and animation Sara Pollack, director Todd Rohal, director Michael Skolnik, and True/False Festival co-founder David Wilson.


The Project - Ryan Piotrowicz

Best Narrative Feature: The Project directed by Ryan Piotrowicz

Best Documentary Feature: Song Sung Blue directed by Greg Kohs

Rock Garden: A Love Story - Gloria Kim

Global Audience Award for Best Anarchy Film: Rock Garden: A Love Story directed by Gloria U.Y. Kim

Woman in Burka - Jonathan Lisecki

Spirit of Slamdance Award: ("for exhibiting passion and talent as a filmmaker, commitment to the independent community, and enthusiastically embracing all Slamdance has to offer") Woman in Burka directed by Jonathan Lisecki

Kodak Vision Award for Best Cinematography: Crooked Lake / Portage, cinematography by Sascha Drews & Ezra Krybus

WRITER AWARDS Best Feature Length Screenplay: "The Wonder Girls" by Anthony Meindl

Best Short Screenplay: "Easy Pickins’" by Will Hartman

Best Teleplay: "Stage Six Pandemic" by Barbara Marshall

Best Horror Competition Screenplay: "The Punished" by Tony Mosher

Creative Excellence Award for the Horror Screenplay Competition: "Child in the Dark" by Damian Lahey & Ian Ogden

No comments: