Tromsø International Film Festival - '08 award

The '08 award winners at Tromsø International Film Festival are now official. Five films have received awards, two have gotten received mentions. The festival's main prize, the AURORA, was given to the French film WATER LILIES directed by Cèline Sciamma. The prize money guarantees the film full cinema distribution in Norway. This year's opening film, THE KAUTOKEINO REBELLION, won the FICC jury's Don Quijote prize.

The AURORA prize is given by the Tromsø International Film Festival committee. The prize is 100.000 NOK sponsored by FILM&KINO, and ensures the film's distribution at Norwegian cinemas.

The prize goes to: WATER LILIES. Directed by: Cèline Sciamma, France 2007.

The jury: Vigdis Lian (leader of the Norwegian Film Institute), Bent Hamer (Film director), Petter Benestad (cinema director at Kristiansand Cinema og leader in The Norwegian Association of Cinema Directors).

The Don Quijote award is given out by the FICC jury – the international federation of film societies and non-profit cinemas.

The prize goes to: THE KAUTOKEINO REBELLION. Directed by: Nils Gaup, Norway 2008.

The jury: Hege Kristin Widnes (Tromsø Film Society), Ada Guilà Puig (Fed. Catalana de Cineclubs, Barcelona), David Miller (British Federation of Film Societies).

The FIPRESCI award is the international film critic award.

The prize goes to: THE SECRET OF THE GRAIN. Directed by: Abdellatif Kechiche, France 2007.

The jury: Katharina Dockhorn (Filmwoche, Welt, Blickpunkt. Germany), Eero Tammi (Filmihullu, Finland), Øyvor Dalan Vik (Dagens Næringsliv, Norway).

The Norwegian Peace Film Award is given out by Tromsø International Film Festival, Center for Peace Studies at the University of Tromsø and the Student Peace Network.

The prize goes to: LITTLE MOTH. Directed by: Peng Tao, China 2007.

Honourable mentions: WHAT REMAINS OF US. Directed by: Hugo Latulippe, Francoise Prèvost, France 2004 and THE BAND’s VISIT. Directed by: Eran Kolirin, Israel, France, USA 2007.

The jury: Efrat Ben-Ze (Ruppin Academic Center and Harry S. Truman Institute for the Advancement of Peace at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem), Unni A.B. Sørensen (Student Network for Peace, Tromsø), Hisham Zaman (film director, Oslo).

THE TROMSØ PALM is given to the best short or documentary from the “Films from the North’ program.

The prize goes to: KESÄN LAPSI (Summerchild). Directed by: Iris Olsson, Finland 2007.

The jury: Mika Ronkainen (filmregissør og produsent, Klaffi Productions, Finland), Endre Lund Eriksen (director and director, Tromsø), Torunn Nyen (Festival Director of the Norwegian Short Film Festival).

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Now I know why Tromso in Norway is called the Paris of the North! Not only is this the best place in Europe to view the Northern Lights but it's also a cultural hot spot: modern art exhibitions, great night life and now an international film festival!What more can you ask for?!!!